Women Authors Evening

Women Authors Evening
To benefit YWCA’s Daybreak Program, serving survivors of domestic violence in Central Massachusetts.

Thursday, April 11, 2019
5:00-7:00 PM
Alden Hall, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
(corner of Institute Rd. and West St.)

Please join readers, writers, authors, and friends at an intimate gathering of women authors as they read from their work, discuss their writing process and take questions from the audience. Moderated by award-winning and bestselling author and investigative reporter, Hank Phillippi Ryan.

$25 per guest  |  $20 Seniors  |  $15 Students

General admission seating.

Click here to purchase tickets.


Social Reception 5:00-5:45 PM
Hors d’oeuvers served
Performance by WPI jazz group
Artwork by Mary Keefe, Cynthia Woehrle, Sally Bowditch and Susan Black

Meet the Authors 6:00-7:00 PM

Book Signing 7:00-7:30 PM

Meet the Authors

Anita Diamant
Anita Diamant found her way into our hearts with the publication of the award-winning novel, The Red Tent, also adapted for television. Since then her reputation has grown as a high-regarded novelist, journalist and author of nonfiction books, particularly on contemporary Jewish culture. Her work has been inspirational for women around the world.
Carrie H. Johnson
Carrie H. Johnson is an author, entrepreneur and educator.  Her novels, Hot Flash and Cold Flash are the first installments in the Muriel Mabley mystery series. Johnson has been published in several newspapers, including the Los Angeles Times, Worcester Telegram and Gazette and Metrowest Daily News.
Margot Livesey
As a novelist, Margot Livesey has been honored with several “Best Fiction” awards from prestigious sources. Among her novels are Homework, Criminals, The Missing World, Eva Moves the Furniture, Banishing Verona, The House on Fortune Street, The Flight of Gemma Hardy,  Mercury, and The Hidden Machinery. Originally from Scotland, she now teaches in New England.
Hank Phillippi Ryan (moderator)
You may know Hank Phillippi Ryan from her radio and TV journalism, or from her  award-winning mystery novels: The Other Woman, The Wrong Girl, Truth Be Told, and many more, recipients of the Mary Higgins Clark Award and the Agatha Award, to name just a few of the honors her work has received.