Worcester, MA –The YWCA Central Massachusetts is now accepting nominations for the 2022 Katharine F. Erskine Awards. The awards recognize women who have demonstrated leadership and reached exemplary levels of achievement in their professions and communities. Nominees should show a commitment to the YWCA mission of eliminating racism, empowering women, and promoting peace, justice, freedom, and dignity for all. The deadline for nominations is August 10, 2022. Award recipients will be honored at the annual Tribute to Women Luncheon on Tuesday, September 13, 2022, at Mechanics Hall.

Recipients of the Erskine Award meet the following criteria:

  • distinctive achievement and service in their current field;
  • service to the community with a demonstrated commitment to social and racial equality;
  • demonstrated commitment to serving as a role model for women and girls; and
  • must live and/or work in Central Massachusetts.

The Award is named for Katharine Forbes Erskine, who twice served the YWCA as president, first in 1930 and again in 1960. Throughout her life, she actively championed the rights of women and girls.

The YWCA Central Massachusetts has honored 127 women with the Katharine F. Erskine Award since 1994. These dynamic women come from all walks of life and represent the diversity of women living and working in Central Massachusetts. They are all pioneers — women who broke through barriers and created new paths for women to follow.

For more information about the award, and a list of criteria, please go to https://bit.ly/3PoRMPg

YWCA Central Massachusetts is on a mission to eliminate racism, empower women, stand up for social justice, help families and strengthen our community. YWCA Central Massachusetts is part of an international movement serving over 2 million in the United States and 25 million worldwide. For comprehensive information about this important work, go to: www.ywcacm.org and www.ywca.org.

Alyssa Mancinelli
Development & Communications Specialist
Email: amancinelli@ywcacm.org